Peanut butter icing

July 9, 2012

The amazing Tanya made what looks like amazing icing this weekend!

~~~

This weekend I was craving cake. But it had to be vanilla sponge cake and peanut butter icing.  I’ve never made peanut butter icing.  As luck would have it, I had a visit from a friend of mine, who is a pastry chef (check out her site which is soon to be updated: http://www.schweetemporium.co.za/) and she gave me a recipe for icing!

As for the cake… I discovered this box cake a few months ago and I am in love.  So easy (obviously) and so divine!  Just add water, oil and eggs!

So I made this delicious cake (it says to make a 2 layer cake, but I only have one springform tin, so I always just make one cake.)

Then, onto the icing… obviously my friend makes this in bulk, so she halved the recipe for me, and I still had WAY too much – but you can freeze it!! Which I did…

This is the recipe I used, But I may just halve it again when I need more… I had enough for 3 cakes.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 375g Wooden Spoon White Margarine (it is apparently important to use this brand)
  • 900g icing sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • Vanilla essence

… this is where her regular recipe ends – but as I wanted peanut better icing, she said to just add as much as I wanted until it tasted good. I ended using about

  • 1 cup smooth peanut butter.

METHOD:

  • With an electric mixer, blend chopped up butter, icing sugar and eggs. Blend, blend, blend for a long time, until light and fluffy and white.
  • Leave icing for 15-30 minutes.
  • Add peanut butter until you are happy with the taste… blending as you go along.

And that’s it!

My icing:

Once the cake (or cupcakes!) are cooled, ice as desired! My icing skills are non-existant and this doesn’t look like much – but my tummy loves it!

Eat and enjoy… this really hit the spot! This box cake is light and fluffy and moist and has such a deliciously delicate vanilla taste – I love it!

As for the frozen icing… according to my chef friend, you just microwave it for 10 seconds or so, until it is back to the normal consistency!

Leave a Reply

