Plum Pie

February 29, 2012

A day or two ago I bought a box of plums from the fruit seller at the intersection down the road from me.

I never buy fruit from the side of the road but we chat every day and I always promise to buy.

Well the plums are delicious but there were too many of them for us to eat before they get over ripe.

At first I thought about making a plum jam but then I thought it was too complicated.  So I found a recipe for a plum pie instead…

First things first was the pastry, I usually keep some store bought stuff in my freezer but we were out, so I found this easy homemade recipe.

Next was putting the pie together…

Ingredients

Filling

  • 4 cups sliced plums (I left the skins on)
  • ½ cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice (I didnt have any and it was too dark to go pick lemons off the tree so I left this out)
  • Unbaked pie pastry to line a standard size pie dish

Topping

  • ½ cup sugar
  • ½ cup flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg (I didnt have so put a bit extra cinnamon)
  • 3 tablespoons cold marge

Method

  • Roll out pie pastry to desired size and line the pie dish.
  • In a bowl combine the plums, sugar, flour, salt, cinnamon and lemon juice (first 6 ingredients).
  • Mix thoroughly.
  • Pour filling into the pastry lined dish.
  • In a new bowl combine sugar, flour, cinnamon and nutmeg.
  • Cut in the marge until course.
  • Sprinkle the topping over the plums.
  • Bake in a preheated oven at 180° for 60 minutes or until crust is golden brown.

 

Enjoy with ice cream or pouring cream!

One Response to “Plum Pie”

  1. Oh yum! With ice cream? Double yum!

Leave a Reply

